Theater Info for the Washington DC region

2012 Helen Hayes Awards

By • Apr 23rd, 2012 • Category: News

The 2012 Helen Hayes Awards were announced on Monday evening, April 23rd, 2012 at the Warner Theatre in Washington DC.

Outstanding Resident Musical

  • Hairspray, Signature Theatre

Outstanding Resident Play

  • Ruined, Arena Stage

Outstanding Choreography, Resident Production

  • Irina Tsikurishvili, Ben Cunis, King Lear, Synetic Theater

Outstanding Costume Design, Resident Production

  • Kendra Rai, Green Bird, Constellation Theatre Company

Outstanding Director, Resident Musical

  • Michael Baron, A Year With Frog and Toad, Adventure Theatre

Outstanding Director, Resident Play

  • Aron Posner, Cyrano, Folger Theatre

Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Musical

  • Hairspray, Signature Theater

Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Play

  • King Lear, Theater Synetic

Outstanding Lead Actor, Non-Resident Production

  • Sahr Ngaujah, FELA!, Shakespeare Theatre Company

Outstanding Lead Actor, Resident Musical

  • Euan Morton, Parade, Ford’s Theatre and Theater J

Outstanding Lead Actress, Non-Resident Production

  • Cate Blanchett, Uncle Vanya, Kennedy Center

Outstanding Lead Actress, Resident Musical

  • Carolyn Cole, Hairspray, Signature Theatre

Outstanding Lead Actress, Resident Play TIE

  • Rena Cherry Brown, Wit, Bay Theatre Company, Inc.
  • Erica Sullivan, Venus in Fur, Studio Theatre

Outstanding Lighting Design, Resident Production

  • Andrew F. Griffin, King Lear, Synetic Theater

Outstanding Musical Direction, Resident Production

  • Jon Kalbfleisch, Hairspray, Signature Theatre

Outstanding Non-Resident Production

  • Edward Albee’s Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, Arena Stage

Outstanding Production, Theatre for Young Audiences

  • Charlotte’s Web, Adventure Theatre

Outstanding Set Design, Resident Production

  • Lee Savage, Much Ado About Nothing, Shakespeare Theatre Company

Outstanding Sound Design, Resident Production TIE

  • Chris Baine, A Bright New Boise, Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company
  • Irakli Kavsadze, Konstantine Lortkipanidze, King Lear, Synetic Theater

Outstanding Supporting Actor, Resident Musical

  • Matthew Delorenzo, Pop!, Studio Theatre 2ndStage

Outstanding Supporting Actor, Resident Play

  • Ted van Griethuysen, Much Ado About Nothing, Shakespeare Theatre Company

Outstanding Supporting Actress, Resident Musical

  • Nova Y. Payton, Hairspray, Signature Theatre

Outstanding Supporting Actress, Resident Play

  • Gabriela Fernández-Coffey, After the Fall, Theater J

Outstanding Supporting Performer, Non-Resident Production

  • Hugo Weaving, Uncle Vanya, Kennedy Center

The Charles MacArthur Award for Outstanding New Play or Musical

  • Marc Acito, Birds of a Feather, Hub Theatre

The Robert Prosky Award for Outstanding Lead Actor, Resident Play

  • Mitchell Hèbert, After the Fall, Theater J

This article can be linked to as:

Comments are closed.