Theater Info for the Washington DC region

27th Annual Helen Hayes Awards

By • Apr 25th, 2011 • Category: News

The winners of the 27th Helen Hayes Awards were announced on Monday evening, April 25th, 2011 at The Warner Theatre. Here is a complete list of winners. More details will come later this week. Congratulations!

Outstanding Choreography, Resident Production

  • Parker Esse, Oklahoma!, Arena Stage

Outstanding Costume Design, Resident Production

  • Anastasia Ryurikov Simes, Othello, Synetic Theater

Outstanding Director, Resident Musical

  • Mary Zimmerman, Candide, Shakespeare Theatre Company

Outstanding Director, Resident Play

  • Howard Shalwitz, Clybourne Park, Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company
  • Paata Tsikurishvili, Othello, Synetic Theater

Outstanding Lead Actor, Non-Resident Production

  • Laurence Fishburne, Thurgood, The Kennedy Center

Outstanding Lead Actor, Resident Musical

  • Geoff Packard, Candide, Shakespeare Theatre Company
  • Nicholas Rodriguez, Oklahoma!, Arena Stage

Outstanding Lead Actress, Non-Resident Production

  • Caroline Sheen, Mary Poppins, The Kennedy Center

Outstanding Lead Actress, Resident Musical

  • Lauren Molina, Candide, Shakespeare Theatre Company

Outstanding Lead Actress, Resident Play

  • Erika Rose, In Darfur, Theater J

Outstanding Lighting Design, Resident Production

  • Colin K. Bills, The Master and Margarita, Synetic Theater

Outstanding Musical Direction, Resident Production

  • George Fulginiti-Shakar, Oklahoma!, Arena Stage

Outstanding Set Design, Resident Production

  • Daniel Ostling, Candide, Shakespeare Theatre Company

Outstanding Sound Design, Resident Production

  • Tom Teasley, The Ramayana, Constellation Theatre Company

Outstanding Supporting Actor, Resident Musical

  • Ed Dixon, Sunset Boulevard, Signature Theatre

Outstanding Supporting Actor, Resident Play

  • Louis Butelli, Henry VIII, Folger Theatre

Outstanding Supporting Actress, Resident Musical

  • Hollis Resnik, Candide, Shakespeare Theatre Company

Outstanding Supporting Actress, Resident Play

  • Naomi Jacobson, Richard II, Shakespeare Theatre Company

Outstanding Supporting Performer, Non-Resident Production

  • Josh Lamon, Hair, The Kennedy Center

The Charles MacArthur Award for Outstanding New Play or Musical

  • The Liar, David Ives, Shakespeare Theatre Company

The Robert Prosky Award for Outstanding Lead Actor, Resident Play

  • Graham Michael Hamilton, Hamlet, Folger Theatre
  • Johnny Ramey, Superior Donuts, The Studio Theatre

Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Musical

  • Sycamore Trees, Signature Theatre

Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Play

  • Othello, Synetic Theater

Outstanding Non-Resident Production

  • Thurgood, The Kennedy Center

Outstanding Production, Theatre for Young Audiences

  • If You Give a Pig a Pancake, Adventure Theatre

Outstanding Resident Musical

  • Candide, Shakespeare Theatre Company
  • Oklahoma!, Arena Stage

Outstanding Resident Play

  • Clybourne Park, Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company
  • Hamlet, Folger Theatre

The John Aniello Award for Outstanding Emerging Theatre Company

  • No Rules Theatre Company
  • Factory 449: a theatre collective

This article can be linked to as:

started ShowBizRadio in August 2005 because they love live theater. They each have both performed in and worked behind the scenes in DC area productions, as well as earned a Career Studies Certificate in Theater from Northern Virginia Community College. Mike & Laura are each members of the American Theatre Critics Association, and Mike is a member of the Online News Association.

Comments are closed.